Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Help me understand front hubs, m'kay?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2004, 08:24 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help me understand front hubs, m'kay?

I'm still new to all this, so bear with me. I believe I understand the logic behind wanting to have manual, rather than automatic/electronic hubs, especially when doing a suspension lift. My questions is, what do I have? I can engage four wheel from inside, but I wouldn't define whats happening/what I'm doing as automatic. I (and probaly a boat load of you) have a smaller lever to the right of my stick, which I presume is going to the transfer case. It certainly feels as though I am making a mechanical change, not initiating anything electronic (I've been in SUV's where you just hit a button on the dash), when I go into 4WD.

I'd love to get a clue.
Old 08-01-2004, 09:16 PM

Location: 100 miles offshore as much as possible, & Springfield Oregon USA
Your question actually has nothing to do with hubs, automatic or manual. Toyotas since 1989 haven't had hubs at all, not manual and not automatic - the fronts axle(s) turn all the time, and instead use some form of front axle disconnect.

There are different systems, and someone with a Taco like yours can tell you for certain what happens when you pull that lever. (I quit bothering to keep up with the developments after about 1990, life's too shrt...) Here's one way it can work; Pull the lever and it physically puts the transfer case in 4wd Hi. There is a switch that tells a computer that you've engaged 4wd, and it then engages the front axle. Or another system might read the front driveshaft speed and wheel speed and when they match it engages the front axle.