Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Can you use oem shocks with tundra coils?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2006, 06:34 AM
JM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can you use oem shocks with tundra coils?

Hello all,

I am new to the 3rd generation yotas and have a couple of questions. I sold my 88 runner and now have a 98 runner. Man what a diffence in the ride going from a 88 to 98, I love the way the 98 drives. I have been reading all the post about Tundra trd coils with Tacoma trd shock . Can you put the Tundra coils on oem shocks? I ask this because I my rear end is sagging about 1" and I need to upgrade the coils for the back so instead of getting replacement oem coils I may go the Landcruiser route and just replace the front coils with Tundra coils and keep my front shocks for now until I can afford new ones. This way I can fix my rear sag and get a 1" or two of lift. Will the Tundra and oem shocks give me a bad ride? I would think it would be better than oem shocks and 3" spacers ???? Also would you recommend Landcrusier coils or Downey lift coils. Remember I am only looking to get 1" to 2" of lift.

Thanks for any input,

Marc
Old 05-27-2006, 07:04 AM
Contributing Member

most people seem to be happy with their landcruiser coils, but then again I don't have coils in the rear so... BUMP!
Old 05-27-2006, 07:21 AM

I ran 881 coils with a .75" spacer with my stock shocks for a while. This is about the same lift your talking about. The front shocks don't seem to vary much in length, I couldnt tell a difference on road, other than that the shock itself was shot(had for 60k miles) It shouldnt be a problem, it is a helluva lot easier to change the shock/coil in one step though, you won't have to compress the coil twice, which is no fun.

Even if your only trying to get 2" I would diff drop it while your at it.

Last edited by JHupp; 05-27-2006 at 07:22 AM.
Old 05-27-2006, 07:48 AM
Contributing Member