Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

ARB Bumper, how easy is it to install on a 3rd GEN -- Pics Included

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2005, 10:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ARB Bumper, how easy is it to install on a 3rd GEN -- Pics Included

1st time poster

Funny story I met a gentlman in the potomac Mills parking lot (VA) with a gorgeous 4runner and he told me about this site. His license plate was Wrek-Div I think.

MickDaddy also recommended you all (another great guy whose helped me a lot).

So here is where I am at:
Cut and copy for another forum I posted this on
-------------------------------------------------
Hi guys Im going tomorrow to buy this from 4x4connection for $675

http://www.4by4connection.com/toy4runtac96.html

They said its fairly easy to install myself but I have no experience with this kind of job, any input? Any good walk throughs for this job?

So I got some responses and links but all the walk throughs showed a 4runner with straight rails on the end of the frame and I have flat plates.

I took off the bumper last night

I just took off my bumper prepping for tomorrow.. Im not feeling so good about this I dont see anynbody with these funny flat plates.

I dont want to do a permanent mod incase I ever want to sell her in 4-5 years and throw the stock bumper and shock absorption steel bar back on.

Last edited by JimmyK; 07-07-2005 at 10:50 AM.
Old 07-07-2005, 10:46 AM
Banned

hmm...i cant really help ya but i live near you. If u need a hand let me know.
Old 07-07-2005, 10:50 AM
Contributing Member

In the process of installing the ARB, you need to cut the end plates off and modify the frame ends. I think all 4runners have the flat ends. Worst comes to worst, just save the mounting plates, and if you ever want to go back to stock, have someone weld them back on.
Old 07-07-2005, 10:52 AM

Originally Posted by Localmotion