Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

97 Tacoma Tranny Issue

Old 05-12-2012, 10:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
97 Tacoma Tranny Issue

My brother in law has a 97 Tacoma that has been making a squealing noise upon engagement of the clutch. My brother in law swears that it is the tires spinning but I know it is transmission noise. I'm not an expert but I told him I thought it was the release/throwout bearing.

Fast forward about 2-3 months and now he calls me and tells me that it is not going into 1st very easily at times. I had him bring me the truck and I drove it and noticed that is not only hard to get into 1st but it seems to not be fully disengaging either.

Today we replaced the master cylinder and the slave cylinder and bled the entire system and took it out for a drive. There is no change in how it engages or disengages. After driving it a few minutes I could not get it into any gear at all without cutting the truck off and putting it in gear and then starting the truck. When I did this even with the clutch pedal all the way in the truck would still try and pull forward and would try and stall. It would also not come out of gear with the clutch pushed in all the way. The last thing that I noticed was whether the clutch was pushed in all the way or not at all if I tried to go into first or second as soon as I would reach the shift gate the truck would start to pull forward.

The truck has 192,000 miles on it and the clutch was replaced at 120,000 miles. What do you all think is going on here. Is this a bad release bearing or is the clutch toasted and breaking apart? I really don't know where to go at this point. Any advice that you all could provide would be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-13-2012, 01:38 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Wink

It all depends on your brother in laws driving habits .Some people just destroy clutches.