86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

TLfromAI's 1991 4WD Pickup DLX Build

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2019, 04:12 PM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
TLfromAI's 1991 4WD Pickup DLX Build

Been lurking on here for over a year now as I built my '91. I got the truck looking about the way I want now so I figured it's time to post a build thread.

I've been wanting to get my hands on a Pickup for as long as I can remember. Probably some sort of subconscious deal based on Back to the Future and that Top Gear episode. I didn't really care if it was 4WD, but this one just happened to be. The goal of this build was to:
  1. Obtain a 22-RE Pickup.
  2. Learn. I'm an electrical engineer and I knew nothing about mechanical stuff other than how to change the oil in my car. I wanted to learn how engines work. Mission accomplished now. Learned a lot about a lot.
  3. Do it cheaply...without making it look too cheap.
  4. Salvage as many parts as possible.

I got this beauty from a guy at work. It broke down about two years ago and I finally got him to sell it last May (2018). Gave him $500 and had it towed north about 20 miles to where I would be doing the engine swap (if it needed it...spoiler alert, it did).

Lots of vines growing in, on, and around the truck. The bed was completely full of leaves and had started its own ecosystem. The vines were actually growing out of the bed. Inside was a mess but salvageable, no signs of rust on the bottom of the bed, and the tires looked like they were worth about $500 themselves so I figured I couldn't really lose.

Last edited by TLfromAI; 04-21-2019 at 04:19 PM.
The following users liked this post:
det107 (01-30-2020)
Old 04-21-2019, 04:25 PM

Got it to a buddy's house who let me use his garage, tools, and knowledge for the engine swap. I wasn't comfortable enough to go it alone at this point.