86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

1988 22re Build Up. First Yota ever!

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2015, 12:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1988 22re Build Up. First Yota ever!

Hey guys. Brand new to the forum and to the Yota community although I have been a longtime fan of them. Purchased a 1988 Yota 4x4 pickup with a 5 speed manual. Also came with a flowmaster and a rear tube bumbper. 22re of course. Paid 2300. The guy said the engine was from a 96 but I dunno. Runs really good. A few quirks here and there but hey, it's older than I am. 170k on the odometer but it's a new engine supposedly.Gonna have some pics up tomorrow. I look forward to all the great advice and tips y'all can give me! I'm an automotive tech student so I have access to a good garage.

The build is gonna be pretty basic at first. I'm gonna be doing some engine and transmission work to get the thing in as good condition as possible as it is my daily driver. Then interior work, possibly a seat swap. The speedo and tach don't work but the fuel gauge does. As do the dash lights. Climate controls are done but it also came with new internals so it's just a matter of installing those. I had a budget of about 3800 for a new vehicle so I have the difference to spend on it. So here we go!
Old 02-04-2015, 05:49 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
and so it begins...

my first yota was a 79 4x4 PU, been a yota guy ever since.
Old 02-04-2015, 09:29 AM

Here are some pictures for y'all.

Name:  DSC_0011_zps01e1aa4f.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  94.0 KB[/URL]

Name:  DSC_0013_zps3ee4ed20.jpg
Views: 83
Size:  108.3 KB[/URL]

Name:  DSC_0012_zpsf4b533cc.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  115.3 KB[/URL]

Name:  DSC_0019_zps1c261d2c.jpg
Size:  115.5 KB[/URL]

Name:  DSC_0018_zpse34b45f4.jpg
Views: 84
Size:  199.0 KB[/URL]

Name:  DSC_0017_zps55dccf99.jpg
Views: 57
Size:  129.1 KB[/URL]

Name:  DSC_0015_zpsdcb34148.jpg
Views: 75
Size:  64.0 KB[/URL]

Name:  DSC_0014_zps96d209cb.jpg
Views: 52