Cycling Mountain biking, road biking, any type of pedal powered biking

Mountain bike upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2004, 01:18 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mountain bike upgrades

I am only a year into mountain biking, but I'm loving it. I own a 2003 model Giant Warp DS2 . I am a bit of an adrenaline junky and have really gotten into biking. But i know that I'm still a total NEWBIE to this. I love the bike I have and I'm glad I went with full suspension right off the bat. Some friend's have more sophisticated and more hard-core bikes and I have had fun trying them out. I can certainly tell that they are upgrades from my own bike. My bike is not holding me back, but I like the idea of improveming my equipment.

So my question is what direction do people suggest in the way of upgrades? I have heard that front fork is a good place to start. Also, what does it take to make the switch to disc brakes? what kind of costs would I be looking at? Thanks for any input.

Oh yeah, the bike is still stock right now. I have added some front and rear fenders, and a new chain and rear brake pads. Both the chain and brake pads were upgrades from stock equipment, but I can't remember the brands.
Old 06-08-2004, 02:26 PM

get a fork that has both mounts for regular c-lever and disks.

you can get a mechanical disk. about $80. this month's issue of MOUNTAIN BIKE ACTION has an article for disk brakes.

but the killer part is that you need to pickup a new hub that has mounts for the disc itself.

i just recently picked up an 03 giant VT-1 and everything on there is so new to me. considering my last bike was a 96 model.
Old 06-08-2004, 02:49 PM
Contributing Member

Is there anything about it that drives you nuts? LIke the seat or shifters? I'd replace anything that bugs you first.