Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2019, 04:08 AM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Thumbs up BackCountry's 92 Runner build

winter 2017

winter 2017

winter 2017

winter 2017

This is going to be a long drawn out build as there will be a lot of different things I intend to do and share. Time, Money, Work Obligations, Children, Wife Needs and Recreational Ventures will all play factors in the delays of said build! BUT, with that being said I will try to stay committed to including any and all projects, hard ships, and accomplishments with my Runner with no Guarantee on how deep/detailed some areas will be to others. So to start this off... I have no Vehicle Mechanics background outside of common sense and general routine maintenance and will not claim to be a professional, I have experience turning wrenches and I like welding/fabrication.

My project I have had since 2016 is a 1992 Toyota 4runner 3.0 (SLOW) V6. Manual Tran with an odometer that hasn't worked from day 1 stuck on 198,500 miles. Up to this point with my vehicle I have done nothing to it myself but dump money in her to keep her running and it has all come to an end she is dead enough I am sick of kicking it down the road. Since purchase I have had the IFS rebuilt, 1 CV axle replaced, the fuel pump replaced, slave cylinder replaced, replaced fuel filter, new plugs/wires, new warn hubs, new rear end seals, replaced front gears to match rear 4.30 gears, and scored some 33x12.50 Maxxis bighorns from a wreck that were brand new for 200 bucks.

As of last week 3/18/19 I have been trying to tinker with my rig here and there and half the time wrenching one handed with a baby in the other arm
shout out to the fellow pops