Maintenance & Repair Archives Note: This section will be merged in with the other tech areas soon, and is now closed

Polish/Wax questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2004, 09:20 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Polish/Wax questions *more questions*

I have been reading posts on Zaino and Griots. I am going to detail my wife's boss's car for some extra cash. Its an 2002 white Sequoia. He is never has time to wash it, and if he does its done at a car wash (the full service kind). Bob_98SR5 told me that Zaino products need the spray and special wash or it will strip it off. This would not be a problem if it were my car, but for his, I don't know if it will work out.

So my question is, what should I use? I have been using Maguir's for the past 5 years and have been pretty happy with it, and it lasts a long time.

I don't want to buy a porter cable since I am planning on buying the Zaino products for my vehicles, so what other recommendations do you have?

Last edited by SLC Punk; 04-09-2004 at 03:39 AM.
Old 04-07-2004, 09:24 AM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Talking Detailing

I'd just use what you got. A nicely detailed rig inside and out doesn't take a lot of fancy products, just some good old fashioned work ethic. The true test to me if a car is really clean is if the windows are streak free inside and out all the way around and that the inside is immaculate, no dust, grime, dirt anywhere and that is smells clean. The outside is easy, the inside is where you get repeat customers...

Good luck Travis!

Old 04-07-2004, 09:38 AM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Hey Trav,

If your boss won't hand wash it w/ the Zaino fluid, then go with what you have or the Griots which lasts longer.

Bob
Old 04-07-2004, 09:44 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Mind if I ask what you're charging? Around here, a full-sized SUV detail with machine polish, wax and interior would be $300-$325 for a quality job and take all day.