Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

I am wanting to do a SAS on my 88 pickup, what would be some axles that would be best

Old 01-22-2018, 12:17 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I am wanting to do a SAS on my 88 pickup, what would be some axles that would be best

1988 Toyota pickup, single cab, short bed, stock suspension. I'll be honest I am no expert on this, but I am doing my best to learn as much as I can before I dive into the project. I have a few people who can help me with the actual work, but I just want to be more educated on this and know all the options I have. I am planning on keeping it easy and just putting leafs all around, and will probably stick with 35s (I currently only have 30s). Any help would be awesome! I'm only 19 but I want to be able to have all the knowledge neccesary!
Old 01-22-2018, 12:48 PM

Received 184 Likes on 132 Posts
What exactly is your question? Are you wondering what years have a front axle you can use? Anything 1985 and prior has a solid front axle. I believe the 1985 year is when Toyota added some gusseting to the axle tube itself, but I'm no expert.
Old 01-22-2018, 01:13 PM

coryc85
I'm mainly looking for what people recommend for the front axle and any tips that might be helpful
Old 01-22-2018, 01:13 PM

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
built yota(mini or LC), diamond, trailgear, or dana 60. If you go dana I wouldn't go lower than a d60.

If you're asking this you need to do loads more research. Just being real.
Old 01-22-2018, 01:15 PM

muddpigg
I have to start somewhere
Old 01-22-2018, 06:35 PM

Originally Posted by KinnamanRoll
muddpigg
I have to start somewhere
No problem. Just saying don't rush to failure. Take your time, read builds, faqs, compare kits vrs piecing one together vrs homebrew, figure budget... What you intend to use rig for, honestly I don't get to wheel like I did before the SAS, moved. But it was a fun project and learned alot. Are you going to do swap or pay for it to be done?