General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

No reverse in A340e (2000 2wd v8 auto tundra)

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2017, 06:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No reverse in A340e (2000 2wd v8 auto tundra)

If I got the trans designation wrong I apologize.

I have been driving this truck for 60k/5 years with no reverse. It shifts better than any tundra I have ever driven (have 2 others currently, still like this one more)

I am going to try to fix this issue, I am just hoping someone can tell me which direction to head in.

It tries to drive forward in drive, reverse, and neutral, when turned on. I don't let it drive in neutral or reverse, except one time I accidentally drove it in neutral and it didn't want to upshift properly.

It rolls backwards in reverse and neutral when shut off. I have been driving it like this for 5 years like I said. no issues shifting at all. no clunks or bangs.

I have read its the bands. its the solenoids, and that its a linkage issue. I cannot find any issue with the linkage. I have even disconnected it and shift the linkage manually.

I bought the truck with no reverse. It was a landscaping truck, which leads me to believe it did a lot of backing up with heavy loads/trailers. I know it sounds silly to care so much, but the truck drives like a dream. Its my truck. No matter how many other tundras come and go (probably bought and sold 10 over the course of owning this one) this one is mine. Sometimes it just feels right. It looks right. It drives right. It even smells right.

If I can fix this thing myself at home I would be happy to. Otherwise I was thinking I would upgrade to a an 04-06 so I get that extra gear and the benefits.

Is there any way to pull trans codes from this tundra trans? who do I talk to? Is there a tutorial?

The tundra forums are zero help. thanks. awesome forum.

Last edited by major shake; 08-19-2017 at 06:55 AM.