Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Seeking advise on engine w/200k: repair or replace?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2011, 06:32 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Seeking advise on engine w/200k: repair or replace?

Let me start by saying up front that I am not a mechanic. I bought a 1993 Toyota 4wd pickup a few months ago for use as a hauler/hunting rig. It has the 22R engine with just short of 200k miles on it. The body and interior are in pretty good shape for the truck's age.

The alternator went south a few days ago so I took it to a mechanic friend who agreed to replace it. I also asked him to look it over and see if there was anything else needing fixing. He told me there is an oil leak in the engine (probably a crank seal, possibly the timing cover seal) and the exhaust is leaking at the manifold. He also said it would be good to adjust the valves.

He quoted me about $500 (parts and labor) for replacing the alternator, crank seal, exhaust gasket and valve adjustment. If it is the timing cover seal it would be a fair amount more. Seems like a decent price to me. The question comes up though--am I starting down the slippery slope with this engine, especially if the timing cover seal is involved? Should I be looking at a rebuilt engine? Those can be had around here for about $2500, installed cost, with a 36 month/36k warranty.

I don't want to spend more than I need to on this utility vehicle but then again, I don't want to end up spending more over the long run than if I just bit the bullet now and dropped a rebuilt engine in the truck. Or worse yet, breaking down 40 miles up some logging road in western Montana.

Any wisdom from you more experienced guys out there? I'd appreciate hearing from you. Thanks.
Old 02-02-2011, 08:25 PM

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts