Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Newbie needs advice/specific info on t-cases for 1uz vvti swap

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2014, 08:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie needs advice/specific info on t-cases for 1uz vvti swap

Hi, guys. I'm new to Toyota trucks (and 4x4s in general) and I need some advice. I wasn't sure if this belongs in here or in the Engine Swap section, but it seems like the information I'm after is pretty basic, although apparently hard to find. I've been scrounging around this and other forums, FAQs, read the Marlin T-Case Bible, but I couldn't find the information I'm after, so I'll ask for your help.

Question 1: On the T100 auto chain drive t-case (A340f), the trans output shaft fits into a female spline on the t-case. Is that coupler sleeve removable? It looks like a separate piece but it won't come off easily. Is it pressed on?
**EDIT - This sleeve IS pressed on and was easy to remove with a standard bearing puller.**
This sleeve:

Question 2: Does a gear drive t-case need a face seal between the trans and adapter housing? Does it need a shaft seal? If I make up an adapter plate to bolt up the new trans, do I need to worry about the t-case leaking all its fluid out the front? The EPC diagram shows a face seal, but I'm guessing it is for the trans and not the t-case?

Question 3: What is the diameter of the G58 26 spline t-case input shaft? The A650e uses a 26 spline output shaft that is 1.34in/34mm OD. Is it possible that they use the same spline? Is there a top-shift version of this t-case?

Question 4: Do either the RF1A or G58 t-case use a compatible driveshaft flange to the T100, or can I just swap the flanges to the new t-case?

Question 5: Do you know of any other (Atlas, Jeep, etc) t-cases using a 30mm/26 spline input? Google couldn't find any...