Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Newbie here.. Here is my 99 4runner.. all stock but not for long.

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2009, 08:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here.. Here is my 99 4runner.. all stock but not for long.

Hey everyone,, i will officially introduce myself here. I have had my runner for 5 years now.. and finally ready to jack her up.. i know ALMOST nothing about all this and have been finding tons of helpful info in these forums.. thanks !
so here it is in all its stock glory

My first thing on the list is a lift.. i am wanting roughly 6 inches .. i dont know a thing about mechanics so wont be doing this myself..
I went to the local offroad shop and was qouted approx. 3 grand for a 6in suspension lift with labor and all that jazz. i was floored that sounds like a lot..
My question is.. what is so great about a full sus. lift?? why not just do some spacers and a 3 in body? any thoughts thanks a ton.. as i said im A major newbie and need all the help i can get.

should prob. mention its 4wd and only a 4cyl.
Kristina

Last edited by Spcops05; 05-11-2009 at 08:53 PM.
Old 05-11-2009, 09:02 PM

Welcome to YT.

I don't know how much people charge to install lifts, but 3k sounds pretty pricey.
Old 05-11-2009, 09:16 PM

there is alot of info on this site about doing this set up.. there is never any sort of shame in trying something new.. even if ya dont succeed.. id say try it.. cause for that price you could do a SAS swap and a lift plus buy the tools to do it.
Old 05-11-2009, 09:18 PM

Yah the actual lift was like 2400... then all the other fees... so i figured it would be a lot cheaper to have them order 2.5 inch spacers and bring in the 4crawler 3 in body lift for them to install.. but not sure if it will look or perform as well as a 6in suspen.
Old 05-11-2009, 09:36 PM