Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

How do you know if a flywheel needs to be replaced or machined?

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2018, 02:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I never did a clutch before and I just removed the transmission but I don't know if the flywheel needs to be machined or replaced.

What do I look for?
(Anyone have the thickness spec?)
Attached Thumbnails How do you know if a flywheel needs to be replaced or machined?-sticking05.jpg   How do you know if a flywheel needs to be replaced or machined?-sticking07.jpg   How do you know if a flywheel needs to be replaced or machined?-sticking04.jpg  
Old 07-24-2018, 01:51 PM

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
I am a noob myself, I don't see where you have your truck/engine type listed.
According to my FSM for a 1988 22re, you are supposed to measure runout on the flywheel.
Maximum runout is 0.2mm(0.008in)
also inspect pilot bearing, if it sticks or has "much resistance" replace.
My flywheel is within spec, and I am debating whether to replace it, or do it because "while I am in there"
Others will probably chime in.
Good luck
Old 07-24-2018, 04:25 PM

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Without info on your Escalade we can't help you. The signature line is a good place for that like many others here do.

Take the FW to a machine shop first to see what they measure it at and if it can be surfaced. They will want to know what vehicle it is too.

Someone here might suggest one near you but - YOUR LOCATION IS ALSO MiA.
Old 07-24-2018, 04:57 PM

Received 283 Likes on 211 Posts
Please, as the others have mentioned, create a signature line that tells us your year/make/model.
Also please give us the rest of the story on your thread asking how to remove your tranny.
Did you miss a bolt?
You could have continued on that thread with this question without creating a new one.