YotaTech Forums

YotaTech Forums (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/)
-   Newbie Tech Section (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f120/)
-   -   Clutch issues, seemingly worse in 4x4 (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f120/clutch-issues-seemingly-worse-4x4-303094/)

just_some_guy 01-11-2018 05:31 AM

Clutch issues, seemingly worse in 4x4

Hi all—

I'm pretty new to my truck, a 5-speed '86 4runner. Got it in September, had more competent mechanics than I do some necessary fixes, and ended up driving it from Iowa to Maine last month with no issues at all. Arrived in Maine, though, I started having problems shifting into 1st, 2nd, and reverse, and my clutch started to feel spongy. Then we had a –5 degree day, and it just wouldn't shift at all (shifter will move if the truck's off, though).

I read the threads here and replaced both master and slave cylinders and bled the system, and the truck responded by letting me shift again, but it was still a little difficult in 1st and 2nd. I thought I might have missed some air in the lines or something, so I bled it again and went through about a fill and a half of the reservoir just to make sure. The truck actually seemed worse after that. The kicker? It seems to shift worse if I have it in 4-wheel drive. Also, sitting still in neutral, it'll sometimes grind if I try to move from 4 high to neutral to 4 low (in either direction).

(I also looked for a crack in the clutch pedal bracket, but I couldn't find anything, and I didn't want to drop the steering wheel to find out. I can't rule that out, though, because my brakes are starting to feel a bit spongy as well, and I'm wondering if that's related...)