Can I use Bosch premium filter for synthetic? - YotaTech Forums



Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Can I use Bosch premium filter for synthetic?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2014, 01:05 AM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
waylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
Can I use Bosch premium filter for synthetic?

Bosch premium filter, I check on their website it saids premium ones are only for conventional and half synthetic oil, but I want use caste ok edge synthetic oil will this filter be ok with it?
waylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 01:10 AM   #2
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
waylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
Castrol edge synthetic oil*
waylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 02:06 PM   #3
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sammamish, wa.
Posts: 1,556
What year and motor for your truck?
thefishguy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 03:56 PM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
waylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
It's a rav4 I own,
waylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 04:47 PM   #5
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sammamish, wa.
Posts: 1,556
What year is you truck and did it have more than one motor option. If so what motor are you running. The more information you give us the easier we can help.
thefishguy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:12 PM   #6
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
waylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
It is a 2007 v6, I don't know about motor options..
waylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 07:34 AM   #7
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sammamish, wa.
Posts: 1,556
A lot of positive reviews on this filter. But ultimately it's up to you. Do they give any reason who you shouldn't run fu synthetic oil in it? Is there any reason you don't just buy a filter rated for full synthetic oil? I did read that purolator was making a lot of Bosch filters as of last year. Have you checked their website to see their opinion? I ask because I don't know. I still run dino oil through my wix filters. Change them every 3k and no worries. I do like older trucks for a reason. Good luck hope this helps.
thefishguy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 08:19 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 146
if you look at the the Bosch Distance Plus Filter, it lists full synthetic as an option, where as you noted the Premium does not. I would just buy the Distance plus. However I run Castrol Edge in my VW with a Bosch filter and cant say I ever bothered to check if it specified full synthetic. my bigest problem was 10k oil changes are hard to get use to, lol
Scirocco16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 03:02 PM   #9
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Robert m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,629
Why would the filters not be able to filter full synthetic? I've never heard of a filter only being compatible with dino oil.
Robert m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 03:09 PM   #10
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sammamish, wa.
Posts: 1,556
I was thinking the same thing. Are the pleats not tight enough? Would that matter? I was always told your oil is only as good as your filter. You should change them when needed and inspect your oil weekly. ie:wipe a bit on a sheet of white paper to see its color. Also smell it. Does it not look golden? Does it smell burnt? Then change it. Also just DON'T use a fram filter.
thefishguy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 03:46 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 205
I have a 93 22RE 4X4 running Mobil 1 100% Synthetic High Mileage thru either Toyota or Denso filters. Never heard of filters being compatible with dino only or synthetic only oils.
anndel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 05:20 PM   #12
Contributing Member
 
rworegon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Columbia River Gorge, Oregon...east side
Posts: 5,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylon View Post
Bosch premium filter, I check on their website it saids premium ones are only for conventional and half synthetic oil, but I want use caste ok edge synthetic oil will this filter be ok with it?
OP, can you drop the link to the page you mention in your first post in here? I'm curious to what you found. Thanks.
rworegon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 02:51 PM   #13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
waylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworegon View Post
OP, can you drop the link to the page you mention in your first post in here? I'm curious to what you found. Thanks.
http://www.boschautoparts.com/Filter...lters.aspx#faq

Here, click in under FAQ page, see' why should I use bosch premium filters' it says good only for half synthetic and conventional
waylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 02:55 PM   #14
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
waylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
It seems like bosch premium is for half syn or conventional, long life filters good for full syn or half syn, and distance plus is good for anything
waylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 02:58 PM   #15
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
waylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
Just searched, for rav4 v6 bosch only has premium, so no the other 2 type filter o.o can somebody double confirm that one?
waylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 03:21 PM   #16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 205
This is what the Bosch Filter link says:


"
Bosch Premium Oil Filters utilize an exclusive blend of cellulose and glass fiber materials in the media for superior oil filtration and greater capacity for engine protection. With 99% efficiency*, the Bosch Premium Oil Filter traps both large and microscopic particles from entering the engine. And, with a media that can hold up to 14 grams* of dirt and particles, conventional and semi-synthetic motor oil users can count on premium engine protection.
* Based on ISO 4548-12 at 20 microns on D3500"


Where did you find that it's only good for 50% dino & 50% synthetic blend?
anndel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 03:39 PM   #17
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
waylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by anndel View Post
This is what the Bosch Filter link says: " Bosch Premium Oil Filters utilize an exclusive blend of cellulose and glass fiber materials in the media for superior oil filtration and greater capacity for engine protection. With 99% efficiency*, the Bosch Premium Oil Filter traps both large and microscopic particles from entering the engine. And, with a media that can hold up to 14 grams* of dirt and particles, conventional and semi-synthetic motor oil users can count on premium engine protection. * Based on ISO 4548-12 at 20 microns on D3500" Where did you find that it's only good for 50% dino & 50% synthetic blend?
http://www.boschautoparts.com/Filter...lters.aspx#faq

Here, click in under FAQ page, see' why should I use bosch premium filters' it says good only for half synthetic and conventional
waylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 04:12 PM   #18
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Robert m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,629
I'm calling major shenanigans on that. Seems like they just want to sell the premium filters to people using full synthetic oil.
Robert m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 07:26 AM   #19
Contributing Member
 
rworegon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Columbia River Gorge, Oregon...east side
Posts: 5,125
Short answer to thread title: Yes, you can.

Correct link to FAQ: http://www.boschautoparts.com/Filter...lters.aspx#faq

I see no reason not to use the Premium filter with synthetic oil. Toyota makes a good filter and it's likely to be near the same price.

Ok, Bosch is trying to push their Long Life Oil filters for 10,000 mile synthetic and semi-synthetic oil charges.

See here:
http://www.boschautoparts.com/Filter....aspx#features

"10,000 Mile Life
Users of synthetic and semi-synthetic oils expect nothing but superior performance. However, these long lasting oils are only as good as the oil filter that's paired with them. That's why Bosch engineered a long life oil filter that was designed to trap and hold contaminants up to 10,000 miles to keep the oil clean and protect your engine."


Yes, I use synthetic and have had oil analysis run and am comfortable running it 7,500-10,000 miles with a Toyota oil filter swap 1/2 way thru the mileage. My 0.02.....

Last edited by rworegon; 06-22-2014 at 07:46 AM.
rworegon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 10:21 PM   #20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
I see no reason not to use the Best oil filter with synthetic oil. Toyota makes a good filter and it's likely to be near the same price.
josenguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
92 Yota pickup throttle slam/jerk shredder4286 Newbie Tech Section 4 10-01-2015 01:09 PM
Justdifferentials / Nitro Gear 99 Land Cruiser 100 Series, SC'd, 4.88, lockers, etc justdifferentials Just Differentials 3 09-29-2015 05:30 PM
22re turbo 87 4runner voiddweller 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 16 09-28-2015 11:21 PM
1996 TR4 @ 230k Maintenance concerns mordell 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4 09-12-2015 10:13 AM
95 T4R not passing emissions. Boomer8404 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 09-10-2015 09:01 AM


Tags
bosch, filter, oil, synthetic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:11 AM.


2017 InternetBrands, Inc.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: