YotaTech Forums

YotaTech Forums (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/)
-   Newbie Tech Section (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f120/)
-   -   Best way to upgrade my 88 Pickup 4wd? (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f120/best-way-upgrade-my-88-pickup-4wd-306234/)

abaddon11b 11-16-2018 03:17 PM

Best way to upgrade my 88 Pickup 4wd?

Hi everybody im looking to upgrade my 88 pickup i recently purchased 2 weeks ago, i want it to be last the rest of my life. how should i upgrade? ive been told to completely switch to diesel, approximately how much would such a thing cost?
i have mechanics in my family who i trust but will still charge me just as much as anywhere else.
if anyone has the time to respond to me and tell me whats best for this truck id greatly appreciate your time
im sorry this post might not make sense, im new to this, i need help just dont know where to start.

abaddon11b 11-16-2018 03:28 PM

Story
Purchased the truck it ran fine but was extremely bumpy due to the large bald tires. i drove it to Houston 90 miles when the tire blew on me and i had to get it flat bedded to my home.
the next morning the truck was having trouble turning over. misfiring, i left it alone and looked up the best price for some new shoes.
the following day i had the tires put on and a diagnostic done to the truck. the intake tube had leaks. it was replaced and the truck has had no problems since.

the rear is welded so id like to have that replaced. so i don't run out of tires so often
however ive been playing with the idea of putting a diesel engine in and want to know what that all would cost. or to even find out if it is worth it.
please help me, im not educated in this field but with your help i can be as i am passionate about it and finally have the time to be. thank you in advance for your words and time.

millball 11-16-2018 04:44 PM

You don't say how you plan to use the truck.. Daily driver?? Weekend wheeler?? Both worlds??? 6 cyl. 4 cyl???? Auto, manual tranny????