Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Advice on buying newer onroad/offroad 4Runner?

Old 08-04-2018, 11:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Advice on buying newer onroad/offroad 4Runner?

OK so yes I'm a newbie and have not done extensive searches, but I think my situation is probably unique enough to warrant a post. I do believe my topic will be valuable to the forum....

So here's my situation.....
  • I'm a father of three and it is likely our family will grow over the next few years....(and we often need extra seats anyhow)
  • We live off-grid 2 miles up a HORRIBLE old rutted logging trail and 9 miles from any pavement.
  • My family and I drive to town about once a week or so.
  • We've been making do with our 2001 Ford F-150 Crew cab 4x4 which is pretty much stock except it has all terrain tires that are snow rated and a winch.
  • We have had to replace the whole front end suspension on the F-150 about once every year and a half or so because of what our road does to our truck.
We are about to buy a newer (2012-2017) Toyota 4Runner and I've got a $30k budget..... Here is what we are looking for specifically...
  • 3rd row seating is a must
  • 4x4 a must (obviously)
  • under 75k miles
  • Must handle well on pavement (and ideally get half decent gas mileage)
  • ideally locking rear diffs
  • something that can stand up to the abuse of our driveway (having to replace the front end less often would be great)
  • ideally some kind of upgraded suspension and possibly a slight lift?