Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

94 4runner 3.0 3vze misfire and more

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2018, 10:22 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Unhappy 94 4runner 3.0 3vze misfire and more

Long story short, my 4 runner had a misfire and blinking engine light that I noticed around New years and most recently a sputter started and a lot less power. Unfortunately I didn't get around to attempting to fix it till now because of life as you know it.. I'm not a mechanic, but I am mechanically inclined so I had a go at it this entire month of august. Delays due to employment and having to wait for parts and more parts to be delivered and a lot of research. Before I had at it, I ran my obd1 codes, 42 my spedo/odo (stopped working) and 12 for my distributor. I decided to do a overhaul of the entire intake and fuel injection system. An injector was leaking fuel and the o-rings were no longer rubber.
Parts replaced as followed: Distributor cap/rotor, spark plugs/wires, EGR gasket, air intake manifold gasket, throttle body gasket, fuel injector kit (o-rings etc), fuel injector pigtails/harness, all new vacuum hoses, cold start injector pigtail/harness, oil/filter, air filter, pcv valve/grommet, various coolant hoses/coolant.
After doing all this and putting it back together, the engine light is no longer blinking but is now solid, I haven't ran the codes yet & I will get back to you on that today.