Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Will replacing timing chain/cover fix or do I need to rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2011, 03:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Will replacing timing chain/cover fix or do I need to rebuild

Hello everyone, I am a newbie here. I just bought my first Toyota project and am very excited. It’s a 1986 4Runner SR5 Turbo.
When I bought it the guy told me it had a new head gasket (is there a way to visually tell if he didn't have receipts?) He advised me the timing chain cover had been eaten through (the normal Toyota thing), I checked and it had the milky look in the oil. We ran it for a moment and it had a lot of steam coming out, it did not look like smoke but more like white steam. The engine ran very smooth though, no knocking or clicking. When I got it home I pulled the spark plugs and the back two plugs were wet and the front two were dry.
With the coolant in the oil from the hole in the timing chain cover, could the coolant make it into the cylinders?
To me this seems like it’s still the head gasket along with the timing chain cover, or possible even rings/valves. I got a timing chain front end kit from ENGNBLDR, I was hopeful to change that out and be on my way. After pulling the plugs and thinking about it, I am nervous to do all the work replacing the timing chain, etc. to have to end up redoing it if I have to rebuild the motor.
What do you guys think? Should I take my chances and just do the timing chain/cover etc., or do you think it’s best to just rebuild now and start out fresh? Did anyone else have this problem, how did you fix it? (Please keep in mind I am budget limited)
Thanks for the input and help.

Last edited by waskillywabbit; 01-21-2011 at 04:17 PM.
Old 01-21-2011, 03:23 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post