YotaTech Forums

YotaTech Forums (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/)
-   86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116/)
-   -   Whining sound (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116/whining-sound-65724/)

cccp 08-21-2005 11:01 AM

Whining sound

I have been driving lately and i got a whining sound in my engine. I am not sure where it is comming from but it only happens when i press on the gas pedal. Can anyone please help and tell me what this sound is and can i still drive with it.

superjoe83 08-21-2005 11:09 AM

i would check you power steering fluid level

cccp 08-23-2005 12:30 PM

Originally Posted by superjoe83
i would check you power steering fluid level

I cheked my power steering fluid and it was half way full. I put some in but it still goes on. I think i figured where the sound is comming from... now i am not a mechanic so i will try to explain this as good as i can. The sound is comming from behind the belts (alternator, power steering, ect.) :think: Hope this helps.

L33T35T 4Runner 08-23-2005 12:40 PM

i just want to make sure its 100% positive it's coming from the engine compartment. i had a whining sound for the longest time when i first got my truck, i thought something was seriuosly wrong, it changed with engine speed. it turned out to be my stereo making the sound, alternator whine.

cccp 08-23-2005 01:13 PM

Originally Posted by L33T35T 4Runner
i just want to make sure its 100% positive it's coming from the engine compartment. i had a whining sound for the longest time when i first got my truck, i thought something was seriuosly wrong, it changed with engine speed. it turned out to be my stereo making the sound, alternator whine.

I am positive it is comming from my engine. its not my stereo. Because when i press the gas pedal it starts doing it.

LittleRedToyota 08-23-2005 01:44 PM