Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

stealership woes!!! need assistance

Old 10-10-2007, 09:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy stealership woes!!! need assistance

I'm Brand new to yotatech and so far i can't believe i've never found this site before. I've owned toy 4x4's since the mid 80's and sure could of used this site over the years. Toyota 4x4's till i die!!! I've owned every year made up to 1989 which brings me to my current problem and hope someone can give me some advise on the matter. Toyota had a recall on my truck for the steering rod (cener link). I took my truck to the local dealer (reluctantly) and had them perform the replacement. When i got my truck back i noticed immediatley that it was pulling hard to the right. I immediatley turned around and went back to the dealer and told the service manager that i think they forgot to align the truck. To my surprise they told me that something was bent and they could not align the truck. They said they had the camber adjusted as far as they could go and I would have to have the suspension tore down to determine what is bent. I'm thinking what the !@#$??? The truck tracked perfectly and had little or no play in the steering prior to the steering link replacement. I asked the service manager to explain to me why my truck seemed to be aligned perfectly before the steering rod replacement. I don't think i got a satisfactory answer from him. How could something be bent yet it was aligned ok before the replacement. I asked a couple of indi alignment shops and they said that it didn't make sense what the dealer told me. Can anyone give me some feedback on this matter? I'm taking it to my local tire guy and he's going to check it out and align it. Love this site by the way.
Old 10-10-2007, 09:08 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
I would just take it in to a trusted shop.

Somtimes the stealership can do dirty dirty things.. pretty sad