86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

starts but wont stay running. out of ideas! 87 4runner @@re

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2016, 07:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
starts but wont stay running. out of ideas! 87 4runner @@re

i am in need of advice as i am a noob to toyotas and cant figure this engine out!

little back story:
i got this 1987 toyota 4runner from my brother, who had brought it back to life with the help of my grandpa (they got it with about 50k on the motor rebuild). fast forward 2-3 years later (it has been his daily the whole time), hr overheated the truck... like 4 times.

the radiator was cracked, the damage caused was; a cracked head, a scorched cam, fried water pump/hoses, radiator was done for, gaskets were fried, the new paint on the block bubbled and peeled off!

anyways, so i got the truck, and took it apart with my grandpa (same one who brought it back to life). its got; a new head (cam, valves, springs, ect), new radiator and hoses, water pump, all 3 new belts, all top end gaskrts, and head gasket, were replaced. a new cold start injector (pulled off a parts truck at a local shop).
Aug. 2016-once the motor was put back together, it would start, then die immediately. it would turn over, sputter for a couple seconds, then die.
Oct, 2016- i brought it into my work (pep boys, lol. but the head tech is really good at what he does), and had him run tests in the motor, including; the timing, leak down, spark, dist. timing, ect. everything checked out, but; i wasnt getting fuel to the injectors. tested the fuel pump, good.. dropped the fuel filter, the damn thing was clogged with rust looking powder from sitting for over year (just outside of fresno, ca., if it makes a difference). so i replaced the fuel filter, and i was finally getting fuel to the injectors!