Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Speedometer & odometer + oil pressure gauges stopped

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2017, 08:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Speedometer & odometer + oil pressure gauges stopped

Forum and mechanical noob here so excuse the many faux pas.

Background: I have a 1991 4Runner 22re 4x4 manual with about 185k miles that I hope to have for many more. I picked it up from the original owner about a year ago and it is ridiculously clean. So far I've replaced the timing chain and water pump (with the help of a buddy), done a couple oil changes, installed a trailer hitch, replaced the valve cover gasket, and driven about 10k miles. Love the truck, drives like a dream in the snow.

About a month ago I noticed the speedometer and odometer had stopped working. Hasn't been working since. A few weeks later the oil pressure gauge quit too. I was getting a decent oil leak from the rear of the valve cover gasket for a while which could have been a culprit to causing the issue. Searching around the forums I've found these two helpful posts:

https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...cation-271944/
https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...orking-245220/

What's the best order of operations? I'm planning to start with the easiest/cheapest options and wanted to check if the oil/speed/odometer combination is a tell-tale symptom of a specific problem before I start taking things apart and replacing parts.

Thanks!
Old 05-02-2017, 11:41 AM

Received 820 Likes on 648 Posts
Welcome to YotaTech!

You have discovered (and expertly used) "search," so you no longer qualify as a noob. Good job!