86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Speaker Options in 86-89 4Runner

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2007, 10:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Speaker Options in 86-89 4Runner

Hey people. I'm new to YotaTech so don't yell at me if this has been already covered. I've been reading through the forums and haven't been able to make a solid decision.

I'm wanting to install some Pioneer 5.25" speakers in front and Jensen 6x9 3-ways in the rear. I read that somebody mounted 6x9's under the paneling in the rear and it still looks stock. I'm thinking of going that route but I think I want them exposed for the best amount of sound flow. I'm thinking of covering a cut piece of plywood with speaker box carpet and mounting that on top of the aged paneling with the 6x9 in it.

The big puzzle is the front. Here are my questions:

1. I'm thinking I'll mount the 5.25's in the doors, but is there a better spot in the door than another for fitting the magnets in the door?

2. Can I fit the whole thing into the door panel so it looks cleaner than being half on the panel and half in the metal below? I DO have the triangular vent windows, so I think the window clearance is not a problem.

3. Also, there are no stock speakers that came in my doors but there are wires going into the doors which I saw behind the paneling. Are those for optional speakers? If so, can I use them instead of the wires that go to the stock 4 inchers?

Any help, photos, etc. would be much appreciated. Also, buying pricey mounts isn't an option for me. It's me, a sawzall, some wire crimpers and a low budget!

Last edited by helikyler; 12-27-2007 at 10:02 PM.
Old 12-28-2007, 06:54 AM