Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

seafoam to synthetic on my 3.0

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2007, 03:16 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
seafoam to synthetic on my 3.0

okay. heres the scoop. i have 190 k miles on my 4runner (95)....

i want to do seafoam really bad, and i know it needs it.

then i would like to switch to a synthetic probably mobile 1.

heres my questions:

i live in the desert and it gets pretty hot and cold too (in winter times, but not anything close to freezing) (not dusty here..)
last week was a hot week and was like 110.. this is why i think the synthetic will do better in my truck..

californians drive freeway's 24/7 and there are tons of them around... so im a freeway driver, but still, mostly city driver...

i have an oil leak. i add a quart when it needs it here and there.

would it hurt to do this swap at this high of mileage, with the leak, having run dino juice all its life?

yes, i looked at bobistheoil guy, but i want opinions on my truck not just opinions on "older cars..."

and yes, i looked at the mobile 1 thread... i know there is a lot of differing opinions. i just want to know if it will hurt me in the end or not... i dont see that spending an extra 20-30 bucks for an oil change matters to me.
Old 09-08-2007, 03:31 PM
Contributing Member

Keep with the 10-30. Synthetic at 190K will not help you. If anything, it will make your leak worse, and maybe more of them. If you were gonna switch, you should do it before 100K
Old 09-08-2007, 03:32 PM

bummer. so im "over the hill" lol.
Old 09-08-2007, 05:50 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
go for the mobil 1! just keep an eye on the oil level. if it makes the leak worse then switch back. as long as you dont let the level run too low it wont do any damage.

ps. if you do your own oil changes mobil 1 10w-30 is like $19/5 quart jug @ walmart (if im remembering right)