YotaTech Forums

YotaTech Forums (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/)
-   86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116/)
-   -   Rate my pistons 1-10? Pics inside (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116/rate-my-pistons-1-10-pics-inside-307149/)

RamblinOn 03-04-2019 03:21 PM

Rate my pistons 1-10? Pics inside

It's my first time getting this deep into an engine, is this about what I should expect with 263k miles on it? 88 4Runner 22RE 5spd I did a compression check with the engine dead cold (running so bad I didn't want to warm it up): three cylinders all 152-158PSI and one at 90PSI. Poured some oil in the low cylinder, didn't change the reading. I figure that means my rings are decent, at least. Any opinions? I'm ready to put a new head on it but don't want to be back in here in 6 months :mad2:

https://cimg7.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.yot...ce8167c8c2.jpg
two water passages clogged like this
https://cimg0.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.yot...4e93447df4.jpg
after a little cleaning

millball 03-04-2019 03:37 PM

263,000????
All I'll say is that the cheap most often comes out expensive

. Get some local advice from someone with engine building experience who can touch it.

RamblinOn 03-05-2019 12:21 PM

Yeah, I'd love to pull it and rebuild it or just drop a remanufactured short block in. It's just not in the cards for me right now, time or money wise. I'm going to clean it up as best I can following some research I did on how to prepare block gasket faces. I'll just have to hope for the best. Slight change of topic, any one want to chime in on how they clean up old block gasket faces?:D

Melrose 4r 03-05-2019 01:35 PM

Which cyl was low on the comp test?
How do the walls of that one look?
did it have a bad/bent/burnt valve?

RamblinOn 03-05-2019 04:25 PM

Cylinder 3 was low. I just went out and looked at it more closely. I could drag my fingernail and feel slightly rough spots. Guessing that's not good. Photos of cylinder walls and valves for #3: