86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Please help Yotatech, messed up big time changing the brakes

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2007, 09:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please help Yotatech, messed up big time changing the brakes

hello Yotatech, I am in a bit of a situation right now.

I was changing the brakes on my 95 4runner with the assistance of a friend and this is my first time doing it and needless to say its going very shaky.

so my friend and I get the dust cap off and we get to the black rubbery piece, I don't even know what its called but it has 6 bolts attached to it and the way it is taken off is to hammer a screw into it or screw it out.

so we were screwing it out and it was coming out successfully until the head of the bolt being used breaks off. now I am stuck with a stud inside this rubber piece that is my next step in getting the hub off.

sorry to sound so inexperienced, and I hope you all can understand my post. this is my best to describe my problem and apparently its not very thorough

here is a picture, the red circle is the broken stud.

thank you.
Old 04-25-2007, 09:46 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
The cone washers on the hub attachment studs are what is killing you.

The best way to pop those suckers loose is using a brass drift. Make sure the drift is soft to save the stud threads.

With a steady hand and nice 5lb sledge, tap the end of each stud (ones with the cone washers) pretty dang hard. Some good solid hits and those cone washer will just shoot right off. Some good rust penetrant (IE: PB Blaster)can help free them if they are stubborn.

Once those are out of the way, you should have the hub in you hand and be able to evaluate how to remove the damaged bolt that is currently in the flange.
Old 04-25-2007, 10:11 PM

thank you Elvota for your response.