Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Need advice for replacing transmission bearings and seals on '86 4Runner

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2013, 05:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice for replacing transmission bearings and seals on '86 4Runner

First post, so first things first. Thank you to all who make this forum the wealth of info that it is. I'm a carpenter, not a mechanic, but managed to replace my master/slave clutch cylinders last Spring with your help.

I've had my 4Runner for about a year now, and it's been a great daily driver. But I just spent several hundred bucks at the shop to not fix some problems I've been having lately, so I'm hoping I can get some feedback here to isolate the issues. I'm experiencing 3 specific symptoms, but am not sure if/how they're related.

1) When idling and driving in gear, there's a faint rhythmic knocking that goes away when the clutch is in. It's been suggested to me that this is the main input shaft bearing that's going bad. I recently changed the transmission fluid to hopefully buy some time.

2) There is an intermittent squealing sound in R, 1, 2, 3rd that only occurs when I'm in gear and accelerating. It's becoming less intermittent and more constant, and I've been told this may be my throwout bearing.

3) When I get to about 50 mph, the whole truck starts rumbling pretty badly. It's just as bad when the clutch is out as it is when accelerating, but if I'm in gear and not accelerating, it all but disappears. This makes me think it's not a tire balancing issue -- I'm on 31" tires, btw, but have no idea what the gear ratio is at... assuming it's 4.10. I've recently rotated the tires but nothing changed. So, maybe a u joint? Or something to do with the tranny?

The engine seems to be in good shape. Good compression in all cylinders and just installed new plugs and belts.