86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

I would like to introduce myself and ask a question--brake related

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2005, 07:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I would like to introduce myself and ask a question--brake related

My name is Tom, I live in upstate New York,about 60 miles from Albany,and am glad to meet you all.I am a Volunteer Firefighter of about 10 years,and own a 1988 Toyota Pickup 4x4 with a V6 and auto tranny.I have owned the truck for about two years,and I bought it from my mom after my dad had passed away.my dad bought the truck new,and (Yes I have already replaced the head gaskets) I use the truck to plow snow.I have recently been having a real bad issue with the brakes on the truck,and I am getting real frustrated with it.I have been noticing that for about the last month or so the brake pedal was getting lower and lower and pumping the brakes does not help.I replaced the Master cylinder,and booster and still no difference.It does not have any leaks and if you pump the brakes with the engine off,after about 2-3 pumps it has good pedal and it will hold as long as you dont let off the pedal.If you let off the pedal and step back on it,it goes to the floor.Start the truck drive it to an empty parking lot,and the pedal just plain gone,no matter how much you pump it. I have bled this thing a million times and am getting no air from any bleeders,just good clean fluid.I also bled the Leveling valve and no air there either.Am i missing something here?
Old 12-04-2005, 09:59 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Did you bench bleed the new master cylinder prior to installing it? What sequence are you bleeding the brakes and LSPV in? Do you have good solid vacuum to the brake booster?
Old 12-05-2005, 05:24 AM