Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Exhaust manifold threads screwed... helicoil time

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2006, 11:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exhaust manifold threads screwed... helicoil time

Hello all.
The threads for the exhaust studs on my 89 pu's 3.0L heads were seriously damaged when I was removing the studs. Actually, only two of the threads were damaged, but as I am putting headers on this truck now, a mechanic recommended to me to install hell-coils in ALL of these threads to avoid headaches down the road. I have no experience with these, however, and am just wondering how simple it is to drill out the old threads. The last thing I want to do is screw up my heads after I just got them rebuilt and machined, but I would really like to do this job myself. If anyone has undertaken this project or something similar, I would appreciate any advice or recommendations. thanx yet again...
Old 10-24-2006, 11:22 AM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by benwahballs
Hello all.
The threads for the exhaust studs on my 89 pu's 3.0L heads were seriously damaged when I was removing the studs. Actually, only two of the threads were damaged, but as I am putting headers on this truck now, a mechanic recommended to me to install hell-coils in ALL of these threads to avoid headaches down the road. I have no experience with these, however, and am just wondering how simple it is to drill out the old threads. The last thing I want to do is screw up my heads after I just got them rebuilt and machined, but I would really like to do this job myself. If anyone has undertaken this project or something similar, I would appreciate any advice or recommendations. thanx yet again...