Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

excesively high idle. Help PLEASE cant figure it out

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2009, 02:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
excesively high idle. Help PLEASE cant figure it out

one day i went out started my truck. excesively high idling but i thought it was just the choke or something because it was cold.

after that i drove it around for about 15minutes it still high idle. that was two days ago

now it is idling really high still..

i think its the choke held open or the dash pot messeed up

it happened after one day one of my distrubotor caps came off and was sparking i fixed that ran fine but idled really really high and it still is.

any ideas??
Old 03-14-2009, 02:41 PM

I am not an expert on 3.0 but on the 22re the coolent is what controls the idle up valve. Check your coolent level and if it is low burp it to get the air out.
Old 03-14-2009, 02:48 PM
totally a bro
Staff

Received 45 Likes on 28 Posts
make sure the accelerater cable isn't pinched or stuck in any way. What year truck motor?
Old 03-14-2009, 02:52 PM

Originally Posted by vital22re
make sure the accelerater cable isn't pinched or stuck in any way. What year truck motor?
90 4runner but a 89 4runner v6 3.0.

Ill check the coolant for it.
Old 03-14-2009, 02:52 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Theres no choke on these EFI engines and the dashpot dampens the closing of the throttle plate when you take your foot off the gas, and if yours is an auto, you don't have a dashpot.

x2 on checking the coolant level. The IAC is controlled by the coolant temperature, much like how a thermostat works (wax and plungers and what not). but you say it happened after one of the caps came off... Make sure the TPS is working correctly.
Old 03-14-2009, 02:54 PM

Originally Posted by toyota4x4907