Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

engine swap 88 4runner 3vze for 3vze help!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2008, 01:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
engine swap 88 4runner 3vze for 3vze help!!

I have an 88 sr5 v6 with a blown motor. I bought a motor from a 91 truck (v6). I have the chilton guide, but I am confused on the wiring... (not sure whats what, which wires do i use the ones from the old motor or new or does it matter? Any links w pictures or diagrams or info would be of great help! Ive noticed there are a few differences in the 2 wiring harnesses. I am a beginner mechanic so REALLY any tips would be awesome, but like I said I am most confused on the wiring other then that Im pretty sure i have all the tools I need. PLEASE HELP
Old 03-02-2008, 01:17 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Put the engine in and lay out the wiring harness. If you did not take photos before stripping down the motor, as well during the process, shame on you.
We can't tell you with text how to connect what you have. Make an honest effort to connect every connector then come back with photos. I found a great site about a year ago on the internet that had tons of wiring information. It was a person's experience like yours. It may have come from this site or Pirate. If I find it I'll post it.

My $0.02
Old 03-02-2008, 01:27 PM

thanks for the info. I haven't gotten very far at all but I have been taking pictures at every step. Going to go look it over w a buddy ill get back w my progress and pics.
Old 03-02-2008, 02:43 PM

You should be able to just lay the harness in place and wire it up, the connections only go to one thing, it's not like you can mix plugs.

The only 'gotcha' I can think of is that I think there was a change in the knock sensor wire somewhere along the way and you have to pull the lower manifold to change it.