86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Drifting on highway plus loose steering

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2017, 04:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Drifting on highway plus loose steering

Hi everyone! I'm new to YotaTech -- what a great resource you've built here. I recently bought a 1991 4Runner 22RE. I've noticed that on the highway the front end seems to drift left and right even though the steering wheel is straight. It's as if the car was tipsy, but I know that alcohol is not the issue because I'm using ethanol-free gas. It's very noticeable at high speeds, 60-70 MPH. Anyway, I've gone over the usual culprits. I put in new inner and outer tie rod ends, new idler arm, checked the ball joints, and took it in to get an alignment. Tires are basically new. The steering does feel a little loose in the first 15-30 degrees of turning the steering wheel either way. I tried to tighten the screw in the steering box, but the screw and the nut are siezed together. I've PB blasted them to see if that helps. However, I don't know if this would cause the drifting. Anyway, I was wondering if anyone had any ideas as to what might be causing this issue. Thanks for your time!
Old 05-26-2017, 06:24 PM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
Originally Posted by AndrewQ
... The steering does feel a little loose in the first 15-30 degrees of turning the steering wheel either way. I tried to tighten the screw in the steering box, but the screw and the nut are siezed together. I've PB blasted them to see if that helps. However, I don't know if this would cause the drifting. ...
That would be the first thing I would check (and you don't need to even get out of the seat to do it). http://web.archive.org/web/201310211.../3onvehicl.pdf 15° of "loose" is at least twice the spec.