Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Desperate help! 22re not running!

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2016, 09:41 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Desperate help! 22re not running!

Hey all,

I'm in desperate need of assistance. I'm a college student who relies on my truck for transportation and am having to bike 5 miles to school because my only means of transport is not working. I'm no mechanic by any means and so any assistance is more than appreciated.

So over a month i noticed my truck was running crummy on idle. It's fine when cool but once warm it would run rich (could smell gas in the exhaust) and the idle would drop. Sometimes when braking the idle would be slow low it could stall. I thought okay, vacuum leak or diaphram leak on the master cylinder. But i disconnected the vacuum house from the brake line and idle still stayed low. I double checked all other vacuum lines.

I then looked at the MAF. I was an idiot and tried to pull on it without seeing the metal retainer clip and and pulled it after undoing the screws. I tried to turn it on and it wouldn't turn on at all. So i thought ˟˟˟˟, i went from a crappy running truck to a dead one. I i got a new one and replaced it and the truck still isn't running!

It cranks over but i have no clue as to what's going on with it. I checked all the fuses under the kick panel and nothing. Also, i looked at the coolant temp sensor and there was a tiny but of copper exposed on the wire that goes to the green plug. I could see that being an issue but not start? doubt it.

Any help is appreciated. I am willing to pay if someone is local... really struggling to get by biking here in Nashville with the temps getting down to the high 30s in the morning. I tried talking to a mobile mechanic over the phone and after sending him a video he told me to take off both terminals and touch them for 30s. Reattatch and see if it starts. It didn't, and he told me essentially that there is a lack of compression or sensor isnt registering.