Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Can't engage 4wd: ADD = suck

Old 08-09-2005, 12:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can't engage 4wd: ADD = suck

hey there. so my 4runner is currently renamed the 2runner cause i can't engage 4wd. i put it in 4h, and theres no difference. i put it in 4l, and im in 2l. w00t! now, the plan is to get some locking hubs here pretty quick, but ive gotta wait for a good opportunity cause the wreckers want 200 bucks for a set of used ones! (that is in canadian, so its prolly like 12 bucks american or whatever the exchange is now...) now, the light wont even engage stating that im in 4wd. if there was a vacuum hose unplugged would the light not turn on? ive looked around a little bit, but nothing serious as ive been much too busy lately, and to be honest i dont exactly know what im looking for. or is it something more sinister than a disconnected hose? i need your input dudes and dudettes, im new to toyotas and 4wd systems alike. my last and only other car ever was an 86 civic, and although i loved the thing, mudholes proved to be a problem for it please help out this yota newb!
Old 08-09-2005, 01:25 PM
Contributing Member