Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

'92 Toyota dlx - warble noise & wheel hop

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2015, 10:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'92 Toyota dlx - warble noise & wheel hop

Hello,

I am a newbie on this forum and a first time Toyota truck owner. Just bought a beatiful 92 Toyota pickup dlx. It has 134,000 original on a 22re engine. New clutch and just had the front wheel bearings done. I thought the wheel bearing would fix my issue with a warbling sound that I have. It feels like something is out of balance in the drivetrain. It gets quicker as I speed up, it continues at all speeds and even when the gears are not engaged and I am coasting. I had the suspension checked out and all was good. I have read other forums indicating engine mounts fix this issue but just wanted to see what you all had to say.

I also get a slight wheel hop. It seems to be worse when in 4WD.

Lastly, the car starts up great and idles perfect when warming up but after driving a while, I get a very slight rough idle. I don't have a lot of history in the vehicle. It looks to be immaculately taken car of. Wasn't an off-road vehicle.

Since this is an old truck and I don't have a lot of history. What steps would you take to make sure everything is at a good foundation from here on out.

Thank you
Old 01-06-2015, 11:43 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Check the u-joints and driveshaft center support bearing (if it has one)
Old 01-07-2015, 12:09 PM

I don't have a center bearing mount. I had it check out today. The drivetrain shop had a hard time pinpointing the issue. He said that it could be a bad transmission mount. I heard that with bad tranny mounts your car will pull left or right even with perfect alignment. I had the alignment done along with wheel bearing job and it does indeed still pull. Does this sound like a good diagnoses. The u-joint apparently were newer as the were regreasable.
Old 01-07-2015, 12:33 PM