Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

90 4runner 3vze Hesitation Issues - 2 years of troubleshooting: The Ultimate Gremlin

Old 09-24-2014, 05:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
90 4runner 3vze Hesitation Issues - 2 years of troubleshooting: The Ultimate Gremlin

Its had problems since I bought it nearly 2 years ago, with major fixes big and small to no avail! It hesitates after start up! I have replaced nearly everything, including a full engine rebuild! Maybe someone here can help???

The build up for my rig covers much of this. I am working on posting 2 years of build up here. Not sure if I'm allowed to link tech thread to my build up thread, so if I'm not, LMK: https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f199...sitate-283374/

May the trials and tribulations for hesitation issues begin! I am now an expert on almost all types of hesitation issues, just can't fix mine :-( I have checked, replaced, double checked again with new OEM or used parts for the following:

Intake system
TPS sensor
Temp sensors
Ignitor
Coil including grounding wires
Spark plug wires
Spark plugs
Cap
Rotor
Distributor
ECM
Complete throttle body
Vacuum lines
Battery
Starter
EGR system
Upper intake manifold
Lower intake manifold
Knock sensor
Knock sensor wire
Heads
Injectors
Complete engine rebuild from block out
Engine grounds
Exhaust system including exhaust manifolds, CAT, muffler and O2 sensor
Extra wire to 80 amp fuse
Extra wire from 80 amp fuse to alternator
Alternator
Ignition
Fuel pump
Fuel filter
Charcoal canister
Opened wiring harness to check injector wires and other wires for corrosion (None)
Fuel pump switch
Fuel pump grounds
All switches on the drivers side kick panel

Whats left???

Last edited by mave605; 09-24-2014 at 06:04 PM.
Old 09-24-2014, 06:32 PM

I see injectors on your list but what about the cold start injector? Check engine light on or off?
Runs normal when at operating temp but hesitates when cold?
Old 09-24-2014, 06:39 PM