Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

87 p/u goes elect dead after warmup, store stop then restart attempt

Old 02-09-2014, 09:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
87 p/u goes elect dead after warmup, store stop then restart attempt

I've been chasing this one for a couple of years now. 87, 22R, long bed, auto tran.

I hop into the truck, drive around for a while (the engine gets good and warm) and after I'm in the store for a little bit, I go back out to drive back home, stick the key in and turn it and nothin'? No starter clak, no nothin? After it sits for 3/4 of an hour or so, it'll start.

I've changed: ignition switch, battery, battery cabled (both) (cleaned all connections) starter, changed the A/T temp sw and I'm sure other things I've forgotten. Somebody told me to jumper a couple of wires in the connector where the tranny temp switch connects in. Didn't work. Nothing works!

I gotta get this fixed because somebody is gonna smash out the window and steal it because I have to leave it running.

After I had to walk home really far one time, I almost took my .45 to it.
Old 02-10-2014, 03:39 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

As long as the engine is running your good correct??

It is only when you shut it off for like 10 minutes Correct ??

Does your fuse box have power so all other electric circuits work??

Awaiting this answer!!!

Big difference between a no crank issue and a complete power loss.
Old 02-10-2014, 03:42 AM

Don't know nothing about mechanics but a friend bypassed the starter relay? on my 86 truck with a push button and when I get that no click I put the key to the on postion,push in the clutch and push the button and it starts everytime.Also have a toggle switch to bypass the cold start injector first start of the mornings.Crank the starter,flip up the toggle,starts right up.Then I flip toggle down.It's all chintzy stuff but it works for me.
Old 02-10-2014, 03:45 AM

Red face