Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

86 Clutch Take 2!

Old 03-26-2009, 07:42 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
86 Clutch Take 2!

Now for some of the people on this forum what I am talking about will be no big deal but for me replacing the clutch is a pretty big deal as I have never done anything this big before. And for those of you that are like me (slightly mechanical but afraid of some of the "bigger" jobs out there) I think you can do it.

So now to why I titled this "take 2" About a month ago I started to get a noise from the clutch and figured it was time to replace it. So new clutch in hand I crawl under and start going to work on it. Well after draining all the oils I go to remove the rear drive line. And after breaking a craftsman 14mm end wrench on blots that had to be tightened by Hercules, and several hours I finally get the rear drive line off.

Now onto the front, which are on just as hard and in an even worse location then the rear. Basically I spent about 4 nights working on getting stuff off just to even get the the tranny and got nowhere. Also on the one day I actually have the time to really work on it I decide to rent a transmission jack so after a 5 hours of waste time tracking one down I get it back home only to find out it doesn't work!!!

To make a long story some what shorter. I give up, spend about an hour bolting everything back up (It really wasn't that much, rear drive line, one bolt in the front drive line and a few shields) I decide just to take it in and pay to have it done.