Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

86 4Runner RTE won't start after adjusting distributor

Old 08-16-2017, 06:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
86 4Runner RTE won't start after adjusting distributor

Hi all, I'm new to the Yota scene as a friend "TrailTrek2Fish" got me into it. I picked up an '86 Turbo 4runner recently and it failed smog due to the timing. It was set at 10* and needs to be at 5*. So, after attempting to adjust the timing by rotating the distributor, we found that it would only go down to 8*. We then set the crank TDC @ 5*, took the distributor off and tried to readjust the distributor by 1 tooth. Reinstalled everything and the timing maxed out at 3*. So, we took the distributor off again, shaved the hole of the distributor to obtain more adjusting value, and put everything back together. Now the issue began...the car won't start! At first attempt, there was a backfire from the muffler. Now it just turns over but does not fire up.

Heres a list of everything we tried...
1. Took the distributor off again, checked everything over, and reinstalled it. Still wouldn't start.
2. Replaced the cap, rotor, and spark plugs with new items. Still wouldn't start.
3. Checked to make sure all four plug wires were getting spark.
4. Checked that the fuel pump is working.
5. Checked all fuses
6. Theres a smell of fuel emitting from the exhaust

Now, Ive read another post and people mentioned the distributor being out 180*. What exactly is this and how to check for it? When I took the distributor off, I noticed there was a "hole/marking dot" on one of the teeth which lines up with the rotor. When installing the unit, I made sure that the rotor was pointing to 12 o"clock and it would rotate to about 10 o'clock-ish once pushed in all the way. Could my distributor be out 180*?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks Yotatech!!!
Old 08-16-2017, 07:46 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post