YotaTech Forums

YotaTech Forums (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/)
-   86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116/)
-   -   2nd gen 4Runner hard starting (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116/2nd-gen-4runner-hard-starting-55671/)

vhilts 03-31-2005 04:38 AM

2nd gen 4Runner hard starting

Noob here :baby: ... this forum is really impressive..hopefully you pros can give me some advice and help me to at least understand the problem so I don't get taken for a ride at the "(st)ealer". :pop:

Been driving "the Beast" less frequently (every other day or two since we're both getting long in the tooth ) and now having problems getting the old girl to start after a few days off.

Cranks strong but doesn't "catch" until 5 or 6 attempts and then she sputters and kicks until finally deciding to wake up...

So far, once she gets started and warmed up, she will start within seconds for the rest of the day without any problems...no problems driving either (no hesitation, low idle or stuttering at stops, etc)...

From reading the wealth of information on this board, I'm leaning cold start injector, TPS, coil, or igniter but don't know in what order to start testing and with what procedure. :dunno:

First, need help locating the cold start injector and the coil/igniter on my vehicle. I think I can find the TPS (around behind the throttle body?). Could O2 sensor be involved any way? It is original.

Battery like I said is strong and less than year old, so I'm leaning fuel or air.

Does that sound about right? Am I overlooking anything? battery, cables, plugs, wires, air & fuel filter all less than 2 years young... original most everything else though, so I guess I'm about due.

Appreciate any and all comments and again, thanks for the help.

Virg

ChickenLover 03-31-2005 05:45 AM