Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re head gasket adventure. [Pics] Help / Advice / Tips welcome!

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2009, 08:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re head gasket adventure. [Pics] Help / Advice / Tips welcome!

Hey Yotatech,

I am a newbie here, however I have been trolling the forums for the past 2 weeks reading, and reading, and searching, and reading some more before I decided to make an account.

I recently bought a 1990 4 runner, 22re, 5 speed, 250k miles from a buddy of mine, after he overheated the thing and blew the head gasket / possibly cracked the head. He was driving up the grade, and somehow the drain petcock on the bottom of the radiator worked its way open, drained all the coolant while he was driving, and the vehicle overheated and he wasn't paying attention. So he dumped some water in, limped it home, and parked it.

That's where I bought it for $500, a steal if you ask me.

I haven't ever done a job as involved as a head gasket change before, so I was hoping for as much guidance and advice as I can receive. I have read numerous other threads on the same topic, and they have helped me greatly so far. I wanted to create a thread to post pictures of my progress as well as ask a bunch of questions I'm sure I will have. Most of them will be dumb and rudimentary for most of you, but please bear with me for I am new at this.

So it begins... Here are a few shots of my 4 runner, sorry for the cramped pictures.

Name:  IMG_0300copy.jpg
Views: 244
Size:  94.8 KB

Name:  IMG_0302-2.jpg
Views: 224
Size:  106.9 KB

Name:  IMG_0304-2.jpg
Views: 192
Size:  80.4 KB

So I went out, bought a Chilton's manual for it (Not finding it to be much help at all), and got to work.

- Drained the Oil, slight chocolaty milkshake appearance, but not bad.
- Drained the Coolant (No Oil in coolant)
- Removed the Radiator, Fan shroud
- Removed the Battery
- Removed the Distributor