Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22RE and 22RE-t Intake/turbo Swap

Old 09-15-2011, 06:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey guys, bought my first Toyota 4-Runner its a 87 model. Here is the story... Bought it for $1400 and it has two motors that came with it. The or iginal 22re-t blew a head gasket, so the owner removed teh engine and installed a 22re motor. Nothing is connected, he just bolted it to the motor mounts and the transmission. I really would like to keep it original with the Turbo installed on it. I am low on budget currently and was wondering this. Does the 22re have the same block, heads etc as the 22re-t? Meaning can I swap the intake/turbo etc from the 22re-t to the 22re? Is the pistons, valves, compression different between the two. I haven't picked up the truck yet, so I can't visually look at it and see differences. Like I said I am new with Toyota's and trying to get this truck up and running as soon as possible. By the way the previous owner stated the old 22re-t was still running with the blown head gasket, but he purchased a replacement instead of correcting the issue. So assuming the turbo is still in good shape. thanks, Johnny
Old 09-15-2011, 06:14 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The block is a bit different, to accomidate oiling of the turbo

The head is definitely different, the combustion chambers are much bigger in the rte head

22rte-trucks.com
Old 09-15-2011, 06:28 AM

also all the internals are different in order to acomdate the turbo, ud have to rebuild the turbo and put it back in
Old 09-15-2011, 06:31 AM

Ok thanks guys...
So it wouldn't make since just adding the intake/turbo etc to the 22re, got it. Would it make since installing the 22ret head on the 22re block or would the oiling of that block be to detrimental to the turbo? Do you think the blown head gasket on the 22ret could be replaced and the engine be up and running? Just trying to get it going for now.