Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

120amp Jaguar Alternator Upgrade **HOW TOO**

Old 05-18-2012, 12:58 PM
  #21  
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
ChefYota4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palos Verdes, California
Posts: 19,281
Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Originally Posted by chris514scott View Post
Thanks for all the compliments guys. I just want to try an contribute as much as I take from this site.

Today's project is putting 2000 celica bucket seats in the truck. Got a really nice pair for $100. Thinking of doing a write up but don't know ow interested everyone would be since is specific to a certain kind of seat.
Celica; Nice Seats...... but the mid 90's ones were too small for me(narrow in the bolsters). I wonder what the 2000 seats look like, INTERESTED! Lol.

I swapped in a TC seat(VERY nice quality, but too dense of a foam for me)... So, eventually just had my Orig SR5 87 4Runner seats welded/repaired a lil bit and slapped it back in, using 1" HD foam from Joann's Fabrics in spots, etc. WAY comfy now, lol.
ChefYota4x4 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 10:50 AM
  #22  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
chris514scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 69
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ChefYota4x4 View Post
Celica; Nice Seats...... but the mid 90's ones were too small for me(narrow in the bolsters). I wonder what the 2000 seats look like, INTERESTED! Lol.

I swapped in a TC seat(VERY nice quality, but too dense of a foam for me)... So, eventually just had my Orig SR5 87 4Runner seats welded/repaired a lil bit and slapped it back in, using 1" HD foam from Joann's Fabrics in spots, etc. WAY comfy now, lol.

As promised...Here is the info on the celica seats


The seats took little modification. Drilling a few new holes and making two brackets out of angle iron. Overall it took me about a half a day.

Seats re fullly adjustable and by far my favorite mod so far.

Below are pics. If anyone wants more specific details about them i will be more than happy to take pics of the exact mounting.





Custom mounting brackets.

chris514scott is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:28 AM
  #23  
Contributing Member
 
Elton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Siletz,Oregon
Posts: 12,261
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
for you 3.0L guys look up cs144

Last edited by Elton; 05-24-2012 at 11:30 AM.
Elton is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 12:21 PM
  #24  
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
vasinvictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Central, AR
Posts: 1,979
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Good write, now somebody please fix the spelling of the thread title!
vasinvictor is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 01:09 PM
  #25  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
chris514scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 69
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by vasinvictor View Post
Good write, now somebody please fix the spelling of the thread title!
NO this is a "How ALSO" thread. NOT a "How To" thread. LOL

Im so embarressed. Thats what i get for doing that late at night with little sleep.
chris514scott is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 02:12 PM
  #26  
Registered User
 
Team420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: the great Maine wilderness
Posts: 2,048
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Sin View Post
My thoughts exactly ... wonder if it'll work on a 3.0?
Hmmm... Someone correct me if I'm wrong... but I coulda swore the stock alt in my runner was 130 amp.... If thats the case, this swap would not help us at all....
Team420 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 03:03 PM
  #27  
Registered User
 
ToyoTech559's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,762
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Team420 View Post
Hmmm... Someone correct me if I'm wrong... but I coulda swore the stock alt in my runner was 130 amp.... If thats the case, this swap would not help us at all....
i wanna say stock is only 90 or 110
you can get a 160 here
http://www.northwestoffroad.com/parts/alternators.php
i dont know how much

or a 130 from here
http://www.lceperformance.com/High-O...-p/1080012.htm
ToyoTech559 is offline  
Old 05-25-2012, 10:01 PM
  #28  
Registered User
 
2big4arunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 259
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
my 1993 4runner is only 60 amps.. I dont know how it could run what it runs but it does. Rockauto has a few listed to confirm this thought. I have been trying to figure out how to get my hands on a turbo supra alternator. It should be a 100 amp model from 1993 that should just bolt in.. no mods on the v6 at all.
2big4arunner is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 06:18 AM
  #29  
Registered User
 
eric08021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: south nj (sicklerville)
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well I got that alternator. And I have a 94 22re, it bolts in....but the plug is not the same. Have to call a dealer and see if they have one

Last edited by eric08021; 05-27-2012 at 06:19 AM. Reason: Spelling
eric08021 is offline  
Old 07-12-2012, 11:53 AM
  #30  
Registered User
 
eric08021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: south nj (sicklerville)
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hey do u know where I can look up the jag alternators that would fit my truck? That alternator does not have the same plug as my truck. Thank you
eric08021 is offline  
Old 07-12-2012, 12:35 PM
  #31  
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
ChefYota4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palos Verdes, California
Posts: 19,281
Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Eric, is there a possibility that a yard around you might have a spare fried alternator that you could YOINK a plug off?
ChefYota4x4 is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 01:20 PM
  #32  
Registered User
 
eric08021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: south nj (sicklerville)
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok I found that the alternator fits the plug from the tacos in the 80s. Not any in the 90's
eric08021 is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 01:41 PM
  #33  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 565
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by eric08021 View Post
Ok I found that the alternator fits the plug from the tacos in the 80s. Not any in the 90's
FYI, pre-1995 1/2 trucks were just referred to as a pickup, the Tacoma (Taco) name wasn't used until AFTER 1995.

/end rant

Sorry, continue with thread
NickMiller is offline  
Old 07-17-2012, 08:54 PM
  #34  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
chris514scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 69
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by eric08021 View Post
Ok I found that the alternator fits the plug from the tacos in the 80s. Not any in the 90's
My truck is a 1990 pickup and the plug was exactly the same as the Jag alt, plugged right in. IDK why mine would be different???
chris514scott is offline  
Old 07-17-2012, 10:33 PM
  #35  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OEM alt is 60A max
BirdDogg is offline  
Old 07-21-2012, 02:40 PM
  #36  
Registered User
 
MortonPhotographic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 304
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My alternator finally gave out and took the belt with it. So I'm without a vehicle but I got my hands on a Jag alternator... But my pulley won't fit. Having one of those days

There's a huge difference on inner diameter of the two pulleys. Any suggestions?
MortonPhotographic is offline  
Old 07-22-2012, 03:57 AM
  #37  
Registered User
 
dixiemuddtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 69
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by MortonPhotographic View Post
My alternator finally gave out and took the belt with it. So I'm without a vehicle but I got my hands on a Jag alternator... But my pulley won't fit. Having one of those days

There's a huge difference on inner diameter of the two pulleys. Any suggestions?
Use a drill press and a step drill bit...and ONLY do the inside of the pully, you step it out to the size where it will sit relatively flush to the alternator without interfering with any functions, and when you impact on the factory pully it will stay tight.

**be careful not to go too far...the pully will not work backwards, and you will have to source a new pully**

My install went pretty much flawlessly, however be sure to plug up the alternator BEFORE mounting to the brackets...the hard water line makes it near impossible on the 22re's.

One thing i noticed with my alternator (from a junk yard) was that idle Amps's were a little low...I'm thinking this because the yota pully is larger than the factory Jag serpentine pully?

IS there a company that makes a small diameter factory V-belt pully to bolt up to these alts to turn more RPMs / higher Amps at idle speeds?

Maybe the alternator I have is just wore out....

Hope this helps the 22RE guys out
dixiemuddtoy is offline  
Old 07-22-2012, 11:30 AM
  #38  
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
ChefYota4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palos Verdes, California
Posts: 19,281
Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Dixie... The hard water line/lower hose supply line from the block... Where the alternator is... It's really tough to get this alt. in due to that? You said, "Plug it up"... meaning? Sorry man... not trying to be dense. Curious, ...but I just don't know exactly what you mean. (it's been a rough.......year! haha). Thanks, Dixie... BTW, love the lights!
ChefYota4x4 is offline  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:08 PM
  #39  
Registered User
 
MortonPhotographic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 304
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks Dixie!

Chef, he means plug the 3 pin wire harness into the alternator before mounting it to the engine. It's a tight fit to get it plugged in even on the stock alternator.

In favor of having a truck to drive, I gave up, returned my Jag alt., and got a lifetime Toyota alternator from Pep Boys. It was $83 and I found a $20 off $100 coupon so I got some supplies too. Bottom line, it was cheap and fast, but nly 60 amps. 8(

Oddly enough even the stocker gave me a few small hedaches when installing--but not so many that I couldn't get it done. The truck runs way better now, my old alternator had a horrible drag.

I will just uprgade the alternator to the Jag, or do a Chevy conversion when I need it--and have the time!

Just for anyone doing the Jag install... I got my Jag alt. from Pep Boys and feel it was a good deal on a lifetime warranty alternator. For some reason the spindle for the pulley was larger. Maybe this is because they replace everything when they remanufacture it, so they use different parts. Maybe a cheaper reman that only replaces wear parts will retain the stock spindle? I dont know for sure. Either way, keep pulley fitment in mind when sourcing your alternator.

Dixie, I agree that the factory serpentine pulley on the Jag is what is affecting your idle amperage. I don't see why a smaller V-belt pulley wouldn't solve this issue.
MortonPhotographic is offline  
Old 07-22-2012, 01:43 PM
  #40  
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
ChefYota4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palos Verdes, California
Posts: 19,281
Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Morton.... (how you been, btw~! ) ..... I was wondering if you saw where I asked... What about the MR2 Alternator? Isn't it 120A and plug and play.... for the most part? I will search it out, but I see them all the time at Pick'your'part,...and with a brush replacement, maybe a lil work, I'd be done, VOILA! haha. JK, most things aren't that easy, at least very often.. But why not look into it, right? haha.
ChefYota4x4 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 120amp Jaguar Alternator Upgrade **HOW TOO**


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: