84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

22re Amateur head gasket job, stuck at intake manifold

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2013, 04:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 22re Amateur head gasket job, stuck at intake manifold

First off, I am by no means a mechanic. I wouldn't even consider myself an amateur mechanic. I'm just a guy with a truck, a wrench, and a repair manual I don't understand, hoping everything works out.

So I started losing coolant a few months ago, got to the point where it was almost all drained within 10 min. of driving. No leaks under the truck, no visible leaks in the engine bay. Lots of coolant draining into overflow, and with the rad cap off it just bubbles continuously out the top. Lots of white smoke out the tailpipe also, along with the telltale sweet smell. I do not have coolant in the oil as far as I can tell. It looks normal. I have decided to begin work on dis-assembly to the head gasket. I hope I have not misdiagnosed this...because I'm too far in now.

Anyhow, the point I am at now is the dreaded hidden allen bolt through the thermostat housing. Which is now completely stripped out. I cannot get it with a vice grips, and I would prefer not to remove the injectors although that would allow me to access the bolt with some bigger vice grips.

I am wondering if anyone can tell me if the bolt is actually threaded through the housing, or only the part that goes into the head. I would like to just cut the head of the bolt off and slide it over, then remove the remaining shaft after I get the manifold off. I am afraid to cut it though, as I do not know whether it is threaded inside the thermostat housing or not.