Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Turboing a 2.2 Liter Diesel

Old 04-14-2019, 05:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Turboing a 2.2 Liter Diesel

Hi there,

I'm from Australia and have a 1983 2.2 Litre Dual Cab Hilux (LN46 model). I am about to put a TD04 Turbo (off a Subaru WRX) onto it, although I am having trouble figuring out the Oil Feed setup for the Turbo.

My questions are:
  1. Can I Tee off the Oil Pressure Sensor hole to supply the Turbo with Oil (like in image attached)? People always say use the Alternator oil feed, but I don't know why....
  2. Can I use either an inline Tee fitting like the one in the image (this) or a Double Banjo bolt (this) if I choose to take my Oil feed from the Alternator feed? People who do similar turbo setups always seem to use large speed flow Tee Fittings and I don't know why.

Also, if you have any other advice or tips RE turboing the 2.2 diesel I would love to here them, I am very new to this.

Cheers,
Karl
Picture of my hilux for your troubles

Old 06-01-2022, 06:32 PM

Did you ever turbo that engine?
Old 06-05-2022, 01:22 AM

Originally Posted by marco.0780@gmail.com
Did you ever turbo that engine?
Yes, I did end up getting the turbo installed. It is fantastic! I did a How-To write up, i'll attach it here and on my build thread.
It's all Aussie parts and prices, so just keep that in mind.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Turboing an LN46 Hilux.pdf (200.7 KB, 165 views)
Old 06-05-2022, 03:32 AM

Turbo 2.2L

Originally Posted by monoles
Yes, I did end up getting the turbo installed. It is fantastic! I did a How-To write up, i'll attach it here and on my build thread.
It's all Aussie parts and prices, so just keep that in mind.
so ive been told that these little engines can’t handle the back pressure of a turbo, have you heard this before? Care to post a video of it running?
Old 06-05-2022, 01:50 PM