Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Anyone ever purchase one of these rebuilt carbs?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2017, 05:58 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Anyone ever purchase one of these rebuilt carbs?

http://m.ebay.com/itm/AISAN-STYLE-CARBURETOR-TOY-505-TOYOTA-PICKUP-22R-1981-1987-W-GREEN-ROUND-PLUG-/231588581379?nav=SEARCH
I was wondering if anyone ever bought one of these and had any pros and cons about them. I rebuilt my stock carb but I'm still plagued with hard starts and running rough after warm up even after full tune up and fuel filter and pump.
Old 03-13-2017, 07:29 PM

Received 602 Likes on 441 Posts
These are not rebuilt Japanese carbs, they are brand new chinese knockoffs. Purchase at your own risk.
Old 03-13-2017, 07:41 PM

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
The headline for the ad stopped me cold - AISAN "STYLE" CARBURETOR.
It couuuuld be fine, but would run far away from that one.
Old 03-13-2017, 08:35 PM

Received 570 Likes on 449 Posts
I have no experience with them, but have heard both good and bad things about them.

I personally would not buy one unless it was my last resort. The casting on this carburetor does not give me much confidence especially the main body.

Hopefully someone who has purchased one of these will share their experience.

Old 03-14-2017, 06:12 AM

Received 125 Likes on 101 Posts
As more and more time goes by, I'm more and more one of those "just get a Weber" guys. I didn't used to be.

But I've had serious trouble trying to rebuild carbs myself. And I've had serious trouble with well known, professional rebuilders. These carbs are old. Webers are new.

But yeah, if you do end up getting it, a review sometime down the road would be nice.
Old 03-14-2017, 06:26 AM

Originally Posted by 83
As more and more time goes by, I'm more and more one of those "just get a Weber" guys. I didn't used to be.