Computer Talk Discussions here pertain to mods, troubleshooting, and PC/console gaming

Question about web cam monitoring remotelt

Old 07-22-2005, 10:40 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question about web cam monitoring remotelt

How would I go about accessing my home web cam say like from work or another computer outside of the house, as kind of a security system? Is there software that needs to be bought, or is there something built into windows that will allow this? I have Windows XP Media Center 2005 (basically pro with extra goodies), and always on cable internet.

Thanks
Old 07-22-2005, 11:01 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I set-up surveillance systems at work and I have some experience. By no means am I an expert, but I can try to help you out. To access live and captured footage remotely, you are going to need a unique IP address. At least that is how it works on our network here at work. I can then install the viewer software on any computer and tap in to the footage.

I have a contact that is a pro in the business. If you need more information let me know. We run 4 to 8 cameras on the motion-detect setting in the software. With a 36GB HD and a secondary 250GB HD, we get about 15 days worth of footage. If you don't care much about pulling footage, you could get about 3 days worth off 30+GB's worth of memory. You are really going to need a dedicated PC if you can swing it and want to get serious about this.

Let me know if you need more info.
Old 07-22-2005, 11:12 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Ok so I wouldn't be able to set the CPU up to be accessed remotely via internet and password, and then view the camera as a drive of the computer I am accessing. Does that make sense?